Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

My word for 2010: Learn

In 2010, I learned more about the human body than I ever dreamed I would know.  Being in massage therapy school has confirmed what I have known for a few years: that I have a scientific mind, that I learn well and quickly, and that I can use these gifts to serve others.

I learned to blog, to write well and consistently for a focused audience.  I learned a lot about procrastination, and how to overcome it.  I learned that there is enough time in the day for your dreams, even when you’re working full-time and going to school at night.

I learned to be married.  Since I Jef and I married in January 2010, we have literally spent this year learning how to be a unit.  We’ve learned that I’m better off in charge of the budget, while his culinary skills blow mine out of the water.  We’ve also learned that while both of us hate doing dishes, terrible things will happen when we both avoid doing them simultaneously.

I learned to feed my body well.  At the beginning of the year, I was an omnivore.  Now I’m a vegan.  I love how healthy and energetic I’ve become.  And I love the knowledge that I can develop the discipline to sacrifice whatever I need to, in order to accomplish what I want.  I miss cheese like crazy some days.  But I wouldn’t trade my choices for the world.

My word for 2011: Move

Move is the word that has consistently come to me in my meditations.  Move, in the sense of finding a different place to live.  Move, as in put all that I have learned into action as I graduate and put together my new lifework.  Move my body by dancing and exploring more.  Move others through my actions and words to create a better world.

