What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?

I let go of my fear of becoming peripheral.

Why?  Because I learned an awful lot about what it truly means to be at the center of things, and it’s not anything that someone else can take from me.

Being at the center does not mean being in a position of leadership. Being at the center means being on the front lines of the work that must be accomplished.

Being at the center does not mean knowing the statistics and status of everything that happens. Being at the center means giving freely of my learning so that the nucleus of meaningful activity can expand.

Being at the center does not mean being indispensable. Being at the center means building up those who can carry my own work forward when I am gone.

Being at the center does not mean being everything, everywhere. Being at the center means growing my small efforts in the pattern of the whole.

The choice to be at the heart is in my hands.

