Okay, so that whole “blogging everyday” goal was a total disaster. It’s just too much work to find time to DO the work of building community while simultaneously WRITING about it.

I decided the action was probably more important than the blogging.

It’s been busy and fun and I’m loving it. I might play catch-up with a lot of the highlights, but I wanted to share one particular story, because it was a case of actually seeing the results of my actions.

There’s a cafe near my apartment called The Root, where I spend a lot of time and probably too much money. If you ever get the chance to try their vegan maple pecan scones, do so, for the love of all things tasty.

One of the things I love about The Root is that they’re as obsessed with community as I am. For example, they turn off their wifi one evening a week (when they offer a special raw food dinner menu) in order to encourage people to enjoy their meal mindfully and socialize with the people around them rather than their machines.

Of course, it’s a popular place, and it can get crowded at times. Sometimes the only table with a convenient outlet is a large one, which is a pretty big waste of space.

This sort of situation has always made me feel guilty, so for a bit over a year now, I’ve put up a sign that I’ve made at various times from scrap paper, used envelopes, or index cards, which states the following.

I don’t need this whole table. It’s okay to sit with me! 🙂

I’ve used this at a number of coffeeshops. The difference is, people have only ever taken me up on the offer at The Root. People who eat here get “community.” They like sharing. I love that.

Anyhow, a few days ago I was at The Root with Jef when one of the staff walked up to our table with a card. He said, “I just wanted to let you know that we noticed your sign a few times, and we decided we should encourage this sort of thing, so we made our own for people to use.”

Here’s the official Table Share sign. While it lacks the “ratty envelope” charm of the original, it’s certainly easier to read!

It’s so easy to believe that your actions don’t have any effect on the world. But the world is watching, whether you know it or not, and sometimes it lets you peek.

