5 things that might make you hate me:

  1. I didn’t vote in the 2008 elections.
  2. I am almost pathologically unable to gain weight
  3. I think alcohol is a stupid as illegal drugs
  4. I did no homework in high school and still got into college.
  5. I don’t say the Pledge of Allegiance.

5 additional details:

  1. I was living in Malawi during the elections, with virtually no access to information about the candidates.
  2. Being naturally skinny means that people accuse me of having an eating disorder all the time.
  3. I don’t think booze should be illegal, just less socially mandatory.
  4. I studied on my own and got a 1410 on my SATs.
  5. I have no control over how people use flags as symbols. I’d rather stay loyal to the Constitution than a flag.

There are all kinds of reasons to hate each other. Envy, frustration, disgust. But a little listening to others, no matter what political party or religion or class they belong to, can go a long way.

You’re not obligated to listen any more than you’re obligated to hate, but it might be worthwhile, just the same.

