I must say, I’m relieved.

Some of the votes turned out the way I was hoping, and some didn’t. But it all happened in a way that makes me feel better about America.

No lawyering up. No recounts. No waking up in the morning and not knowing what happened. No difference between the popular vote and the electoral college. People voted, the votes were counted, and the elections decided.

I was 17, a senior in high school during the 2000 elections. I remember turning on the TV in the morning, and nobody would tell me who the president was. I went to school, and my teachers and classmates didn’t know. I went to the library, where the school always received a copy of the daily newspaper, which is how I found out that people weren’t telling me the election results because nobody knew.

It was a huge blow to my faith in the system. I wasn’t sure I would ever get it back.

This year, despite all the worry about voter suppression on one side and voter fraud on the other, things went smoothly. I’d like to think that the high school graduating class of 2013 will have a little more faith as young adults than I did, coming of age in a world where we handle voting with both honesty and class.

Democracy, for all its failures, is a tradition worth preserving. I’m glad to see it’s alive and well.

